Priorities and Choices

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you only do it when it’s convenient. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses- only results.” – Ken Blanchard

I used to be one of those annoying people who would check-in to the gym on Facebook at 5am with some bullshit quote about having “No Days Off”. Not long after that, I would formulate a long instagram caption like the one above for under my sweaty mirror selfie about how you need to make time for what you really want and how important it was to have goals. God, I was awful. Even looking back now I realize how fucking annoying it probably was. Sure I dragged my butt out of bed and got fasted cardio done before more people’s alarms would sing their first note. Yeah, I would be done with my workout and home, showered and out the door for work before most people open their eyes. I would work 9pm to 6am and change my clothes in the bathroom at work so I could get to the gym and have a zombified half ass workout instead of crawling into bed. I would do 2-a-days and eat cold fish and broccoli out of a Tupperware in my car in the gym parking lot. But you know what? I hated it. A lot.

Yes, there is a difference between interest and commitment. Like I’m interested in animals but I’m not committed to them enough to go break them all free from the zoo. I like iced coffee, but you don’t see me booking the next flight to Ethiopia to harvest arabica beans. And most applicable, right now I’m interested in building some muscle and maybe losing a little bit of belly fat- but by no means am I committing my life to the fitness industry and sacrificing my happiness to get there. 

I don’t feel the need to go balls-to-the-wall at the gym anymore, because I choose to no longer make it a priority in my life. With the need to be thin and eat a certain way being forced upon me as I have previously mentioned in several posts, it can sometimes be unbelievable that you actually have a choice to not be at 0% or 110% all the time. More power to ya if you’re one of the people who can be always on their shit, but for me it’s just not possible to dedicate every moment of my time to changing my appearance. Finding a happy medium is on my to-do list, and I’m actively searching for time in my schedule for that.

When prioritizing workout out and eating healthy I sacrificed a lot of my time, time that used to be spent on things I really enjoyed. I grew up loving arts and crafts, baking, reading and watching tv. It’s safe to say that nothing is changed. Some of these might seem like a mindless waste of time, but to me they are actually key pillars in my life that keep me sane. After working all day in a bakery, you would think that the last thing I want to do is bake some more when I’m off the clock. In reality, baking is actually a hobby I really enjoy, and so yesterday I prioritized time to whip up some peanut butter cup dip yesterday and that was a delicious decision. 

Surprisingly, now there is a growing list of things that I specifically make time for before the gym. I need a clean kitchen, I started going to the library and reading again, and actually right now I took myself on a date to Panera for breakfast (I still get free/ discounted meals because I’m the best obviously) to just get out of the house and catch up on some blogs. It makes me realize how much time I used during the day doing things I didn’t enjoy, not that I didn’t enjoy going to the gym- at most points in the last few years I genuine did love working out- but right now taking a break just feels like the best decision. 

If it’s important to you, you’ll make time for it. Whether it’s workout or cardio or meal prep, you’ll make time in your day and schedule it in if you have to. Well, naps are important to me, and so is watching Jeopardy with Ian at 7pm every weekday. Doggie snuggles are important, listening to my weekly podcasts are important. Lounging on the couch in my pj’s is pretty high up there, too, along with date nights and pancake breakfasts. 

Don’t let anyone tell you the things that should be important to you. Because sometimes when people are making time for the little things in their day, they are actually big things to them. Take days off, slow down sometimes, rest. 

Take a look at this article by Noelle Tarr from the Paleo Women Podcast, great post about why I don’t want six pack abs ! Agree x1000! 

Leave a Reply

